top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSamson C.

Interactive Oral Presentation

Updated: Apr 23, 2019



Education in Japan during Meiji Era



“I opened the window of my room, which was on the second floor and, pretending that my diploma was a telescope, I surveyed as much of the world as I could see… Then I threw the diploma down on the desk… In that position, I thought back over my past and tried to imagine what my future would be. I thought about my diploma lying on the desk and, though it seemed to have some significance as a kind of symbol of the beginning of a new life, I could not help feeling that it was a meaningless scrap of paper too.”



the professors who stood on the platforms seemed very far away, and their voices faint.”




“I see that higher education has made you adept at empty rationalization”



“But sometimes I was inclined to regard his reserve unfavorably. I liked then to think that his reluctance to discuss such a matter was due to timidity born of the conventions of a generation ago. I thought myself more free, in this respect, and more open-minded, than either Sensei or his wife.”






2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

An Olfactory Diary (Inspired by "Perfume")

1. Log at least 10 scents from your weekend. Write what you smell (how can you identify it? what are the characteristics?) -Coffee -Flowers -Perfume -Fruity -Woody -Bread -Shampoo -Laundry detergent -

[Editing] Olfaction Facts!

The author of Perfume decided to create a main character with a "super sense" of smell, officially known as "Hyperosmia". Why, do you think, the author chose this particular sense rather than that of

bottom of page